Sex Discrimination (Clubs and Other Private Associations) Bill — Discrimination: Private Clubs — 15 Oct 2004 at 14:15

I beg to move amendment No. 3, in page 3, line 35 at end insert-

'29E Unreasonable works and alterations

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The Bill under debate required members clubs that were previously single sex to become open to both sexes. As part of this, it required the clubs to carry out works to make the facilities appropriate for both sexes. This amendment was designed to make sure that clubs didn't have to carry out "Unreasonable works". Those voting Aye in the division agreed to the amendment.

The House divided: Ayes 7, Noes 20.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

All Votes Cast - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which MPs were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible MP including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)tellaye
Geoffrey Clifton-BrownCotswoldConaye
Dominic GrieveBeaconsfieldCon (front bench)aye
Greg KnightEast YorkshireCon (front bench)aye
Edward LeighGainsboroughCon (front bench)tellaye
Mr Nigel BeardBexleyheath and CrayfordLab (minister)no
Paul ClarkGillinghamLab (minister)no
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Andrew DismoreHendonLab (minister)no
Jim DowdLewisham WestLab (minister)no
Jim FitzpatrickPoplar and Canning TownLab (minister)no
Mike GapesIlford SouthLab (minister)no
Neil GerrardWalthamstowLab (minister)no
Ms Jane GriffithsReading EastLabno
Keith HillStreathamLab (minister)no
Kevan JonesNorth DurhamLab (minister)no
Stephen LadymanSouth ThanetLab (minister)no
Fiona MactaggartSloughLab (minister)no
Steve McCabeBirmingham, Hall GreenLab (minister)no
Steve PoundEaling NorthLab (minister)tellno
Gwyn ProsserDoverLab (minister)no
Mr Lawrie QuinnScarborough and WhitbyLab (minister)no
Ms Debra ShipleyStourbridgeLab (minister)no
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLab (minister)no
Gerry SutcliffeBradford SouthLab (minister)no
Tom WatsonWest Bromwich EastLab (minister)no
David WrightTelfordLab (minister)tellno
Malcolm BruceGordonLDem (front bench)aye
Patsy CaltonCheadleLDem (front bench)aye
Simon HughesNorth Southwark and BermondseyLDem (front bench)aye
Bob RussellColchesterLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

TWe're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive