New Clause 1 — Amendment of Companies Act 1985: limit on auditor's liability (No.1) — Clause 23 — Power to enter and remain on premises — 19 Oct 2004 at 17:10

Amendment proposed: No. 24, in page 29, line 32, at end insert-

'(9) The Secretary of State may on the written request of the inspector or investigator-

(a) if satisfied that it is necessary for the purpose mentioned in subsection 1(b) extend for a period which he may specify beyond the initial 30 days the period of authorisation under subsection 1(a); or

(b) extend the number of consecutive days during which the inspector or investigator may remain on the relevant premises.

(10) There shall be no limit on the number of extensions which may be requested of or granted by the Secretary of State under subsection (9).'.-[Mr. Andrew Mitchell.]

Question put, That the amendment be made:-

The House divided: Ayes 159, Noes 264.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 109 (+2 tell)068.1%
Lab264 (+2 tell) 0065.4%
LDem0 39070.9%
PC0 40100.0%
SNP0 3060.0%
UUP0 4080.0%
Total:264 159066.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive