[S2M-1940.4 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 4 Nov 2004 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S2M-1940.4

The description in the bulletin on 2004-11-04 is:

*S2M-1940.4 Robert Brown: A Better Deal for Pensioners—As an amendment to motion (S2M-1940) in the name of Nicola Sturgeon, leave out from "agrees" to end and insert "welcomes the progress made by the Scottish Executive in ensuring a better deal for pensioners through the introduction of free personal care, a national free off-peak bus scheme and a free central heating and insulation scheme; recognises that pensions policy is reserved to the UK Government; believes that the UK government’s policy on pensions has failed as nearly 2 million pensioners are missing out on the pension credits that they are entitled to and deserve due to demeaning and unworkable means-testing, and further believes that the state pension must be reformed to ensure that everyone has a decent income in retirement by implementing the Liberal Democrat proposal for a Citizen’s Pension, initially for those over 75, with entitlement based on residency and not National Insurance contributions, restoring the link between earnings and pensions, making older pensioners better off by £25 per week for single pensioners and lifting one million UK pensioners out of means-testing."

You can search for this motion (S2M-1940.4) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that amendment S2M-1940.4, in the name of Robert Brown, which seeks to amend motion S2M-1940, in the name of Nicola Sturgeon, on a better deal for pensioners, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con16 0088.9%
Green6 0085.7%
Independent2 0050.0%
Lab46 0194.0%
LDem0 14082.4%
SNP24 0096.0%
SSP5 0083.3%
Total:99 14189.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Elaine SmithCoatbridge and ChrystonLababstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive