Civil Contingencies Bill — 9 Nov 2004 at 17:05

moved Amendment No. 8:

Page 3, line 25, at end insert-

"( ) Regulations under subsection (3) may, in particular, make provision-

(a) requiring those authorities which control ports, airports or frontiers as well as local authorities to install special equipment to monitor the contents of lorries, containers or other objects for suspicious contents or persons;

(b) requiring those authorities which control ports, airport or frontiers as well as local authorities to install special equipment designed to monitor persons, ships, other conveyances or other objects for radiological material; and

(c) requiring local authorities and other public bodies to obtain specific static or mobile equipment which is designed to identify the presence of chemical material or biological organisms or radiological substances which might be used in a terrorist attack."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 8) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 196; Not-Contents, 156.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 03.8%
Con117 (+1 tell) 057.0%
Crossbench22 1320.0%
Green1 0100.0%
Lab0 140 (+2 tell)70.3%
LDem47 (+1 tell) 069.6%
Other0 17.1%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:189 15449.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Ampthill Crossbenchno
Lord Chan Crossbenchno
Baroness D'Souza Crossbenchno
Baroness Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchno
Lord Hylton Crossbenchno
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Marsh Crossbenchno
Lord Monson Crossbenchno
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbenchno
Lord Walton of DetchantCrossbenchno
Lord Weatherill Crossbench (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive