School Transport Bill — Clause 1 — School travel schemes — 16 Dec 2004 at 15:15

The Aye-voters failed to change the School Transport Bill to make it necessary for the local authority to consult with the Welsh Assembly when they proposed their travel scheme.

The actual amendment was: in page 2, line 12 [Clause 1], at end insert:

2A (1) Scheme authorities shall, prior to the submission of a proposed school travelscheme to the appropriate national authority, undertake a consultation process in accordance with regulations made by—

(a) in England, the Secretary of State, and (b) in Wales, the Assembly for Wales.
(2) Regulations under subparagraphs (l)(a) or (b) may, in particular, include a list of statutory consultees to be asked for comments on the proposed scheme and provide for the nature of the consultation process.

The debate up until this point had been about a different amendment that had been withdrawn and replaced with this one immediately before the vote.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 101 (+2 tell)063.2%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab228 (+2 tell) 0056.5%
LDem0 26047.3%
SDLP0 1033.3%
UUP0 2040.0%
Total:229 130057.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive