Connecting Parliament with the Public — 26 Jan 2005 at 16:55

The Aye-voters passed the Motion:

This House notes with approval the First Report of the Select Committee on Modernisation of the House of Commons of Session 2003-04, on Connecting Parliament with the Public (HC 368) and the First Special Report from the Committee containing the House of Commons Commission's response thereto (HC 69); agrees that the House should make itself more accessible, make it easier for people to understand the work of Parliament and do more to communicate its activity to the general public; welcomes the steps taken or planned as set out in the Commission's response, including those planned to bring about the radical upgrade of the website envisaged by the Modernisation Committee; endorses the Committee's conclusion that further consideration should be given to facilities such as a Parliamentary roadshow in the light of evaluation of other outreach initiatives; authorises the House of Commons Commission to fund the publication and distribution of a new voters' guide; and would welcome more proactive promotion to the media and the public of the House and its work.

There was no debate for this motion, so no opportunity to mention Publicwhip anywhere.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con40 13 (+2 tell)034.0%
DUP4 0057.1%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab275 (+2 tell) 0067.9%
LDem41 1076.4%
PC4 00100.0%
SNP4 0080.0%
UUP5 00100.0%
Total:374 14060.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

James ClappisonHertsmereCon (front bench)no
Kenneth ClarkeRushcliffeCon (front bench)no
Michael FallonSevenoaksCon (front bench)no
Mr Howard FlightArundel and South Downswhilst Con (front bench)no
Eric ForthBromley and ChislehurstCon (front bench)tellno
Roger GaleNorth ThanetCon (front bench)no
Edward GarnierHarboroughConno
Chris GraylingEpsom and EwellCon (front bench)no
Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamConno
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Owen PatersonNorth ShropshireConno
Anthony SteenTotnesCon (front bench)no
Desmond SwayneNew Forest WestCon (front bench)no
Robert SymsPooleCon (front bench)no
Ann WintertonCongletonwhilst Con (front bench)tellno
David HeathSomerton and FromeLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive