Constitutional Reform Bill — Clause 37 — Juristiction of the Supreme Court — 1 Feb 2005 at 15:00

John Prescott MP, Kingston upon Hull East did not vote.

Those who voted Aye wanted to reverse the meaning of Clause 37 of the Constitutional Reform Bill, which says:

(1)The Supreme Court is a superior court of record.
(2) An appeal lies to the Court from any order or judgment of the Court of Appeal in England and Wales in civil proceedings.
(3) An appeal lies to the Court from any order or judgment of a court in Scotland if an appeal lay from that court to the House of Lords at or immediately before the commencement of this section.

The few who voted Aye wanted to change the word "an" in the third paragraph to "no". This would have removed the law in Scotland from the power of the new Supreme Court.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a not-for-profit free service. However, it does cost us money to 'keep the lights on'. To do this cheaply, we get our 100% renewable electricity from Bulb - who tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six' electricity suppliers and will give us and YOU £50 credit if you switch your gas and electricity to them using our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con111 0068.5%
DUP3 0042.9%
Independent1 0050.0%
Lab264 (+2 tell) 0065.2%
LDem30 0054.5%
PC0 1 (+2 tell)075.0%
SNP0 3060.0%
UUP2 0040.0%
Total:411 4064.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. We're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive