[S2M-2506.4 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 3 Mar 2005 at 16:40

This looks like the vote on S2M-2506.4

The description in the bulletin on 2005-03-03 is:

*S2M-2506.4 Mr Tom McCabe: The Right to Protest at Gleneagles—As an amendment to motion (S2M-2506) in the name of Rosie Kane, insert at end "further recognises that protestors have responsibilities to uphold the law and deplores calls by an unrepresentative minority to use the occasion to engage in unlawful and violent activity; pledges full endorsement of the work of the Scottish Police Service to ensure public safety and order and facilitate peaceful protest; welcomes the tremendous opportunity presented by the G8 to show to a watching world everything that is good about Scotland and Scotland’s people, and acknowledges that the summit is also an opportunity to encourage debate, raise awareness and challenge people within Scotland about the key issues of poverty in Africa and climate change." Supported by: Tavish Scott* Motions and amendments which have attracted additional support

You can search for this motion (S2M-2506.4) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that amendment S2M-2506.4, in the name of Mr Tom McCabe, which seeks to amend motion S2M-2506, in the name of Rosie Kane, on the right to protest at Gleneagles, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con16 0088.9%
Green0 0685.7%
Independent2 0040.0%
Lab45 0091.8%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP23 0092.0%
SSCUP1 00100.0%
SSP0 5083.3%
Total:103 5689.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive