[S2M-2547.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 10 Mar 2005 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-2547.2

The description in the bulletin on 2005-03-10 is:

* S2M-2547.2 Bill Aitken:Early Years Education and Childcare—As an amendment to motion (S2M-2547) in the name of Fiona Hyslop, leave out from “working families” to end and insert “parents who choose to work; notes that both the Scottish Executive and the Scottish Parliament’s Education Committee are currently reviewing early years provision, including issues of recruitment and retention of staff and pay and conditions, and believes that parents must have the flexibility to choose the form of nursery education best suited to their family circumstances and that a nursery voucher that can be topped up represents the best way to achieve this.”

You can search for this motion (S2M-2547.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that amendment S2M-2547.2, in the name of Bill Aitken, which seeks to amend motion S2M-2547, in the name of Fiona Hyslop, on early years education and child care, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 15083.3%
Green6 0085.7%
Independent4 01100.0%
Lab46 0093.9%
LDem17 00100.0%
SNP23 1096.0%
SSCUP1 00100.0%
SSP4 0066.7%
Total:101 16192.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Margaret EwingMoraySNPaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive