[S2M-2547.3 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 10 Mar 2005 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-2547.3

The description in the bulletin on 2005-03-10 is:

* S2M-2547.3 Ms Rosemary Byrne:Early Years Education and Childcare—As an amendment to motion (S2M-2547) in the name of Fiona Hyslop, leave out from “in particular” to end and insert “; calls for a recognition of the professionalism of nursery nurses and the immediate establishment of national pay and conditions commensurate with that professionalism; further calls for an immediate response from the Minister for Education and Young People regarding the delay in the publication of the national strategy for early years; demands a system of accessible childcare and nursery education publicly-funded and free at the point of need for all families; supports the wisdom of early intervention in the early stages of education and the implementation of developmental needs provision rather than formal learning, and calls for appropriate support for children with special educational needs and social, emotional and behavioural difficulties and also appropriate support for parents and carers of these children.” Motions and amendments which have attracted additional support

You can search for this motion (S2M-2547.3) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fifth question is, that amendment S2M-2547.3, in the name of Rosemary Byrne, which seeks to amend motion S2M-2547, in the name of Fiona Hyslop, on early years education and child care, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con15 0083.3%
Green0 6085.7%
Independent1 40100.0%
Lab46 0093.9%
LDem16 10100.0%
SNP0 241100.0%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP0 4066.7%
Total:78 40193.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jamie StoneCaithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLDemaye
Brian AdamAberdeen NorthSNPabstention

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive