Constitutional Reform Bill [HL] — 15 Mar 2005 at 14:30


<[i>The page and line references are to Bill 18, the Bill as first printed for the Commons.]

The text of all the amendments can be found at:–4.html and subsequent pages.


1 Clause 2, leave out Clause 2

rose to move Amendment No. 1A, as an amendment to the Motion that this House do agree with the Commons in their Amendment No. 1, leave out "agree" and insert "disagree".

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 1A) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 215; Not-Contents, 199.

Debate in Parliament | Historical Hansard | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop2 112.0%
Con152 (+2 tell) 073.3%
Crossbench48 429.5%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab1 139 (+2 tell)69.3%
LDem4 5078.3%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:209 19559.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Bishop of OxfordBishopno
Baroness Greengross Crossbenchno
Lord Marsh Crossbenchno
Baroness Murphy Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchno
Lord Roll of IpsdenCrossbenchno
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonLabaye
Lord Holme of CheltenhamLDemaye
Lord Hooson LDemaye
Lord Phillips of SudburyLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Taverne LDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive