[S2M-2622.2 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 24 Mar 2005 at 17:05

This looks like the vote on S2M-2622.2

The description in the bulletin on 2005-03-24 is:

* S2M-2622.2 Cathy Jamieson: Firearms Legislation—As an amendment to motion (S2M-2622) in the name of Mr Kenny MacAskill, leave out from “notes with concern” to end and insert “extends its sympathies to those affected by recent tragedies involving firearms; acknowledges that following the Dunblane tragedy in 1996 UK governments have considerably tightened firearms legislation so that the UK now has some of the toughest firearms laws in the world; welcomes additional action taken by the Scottish Executive to encourage people to hand in air weapons to the police; reaffirms the benefits of a UK-wide legal framework and system of gun control, and supports the Executive in its continuing engagement with the UK Government on the current wide-ranging and comprehensive review of firearms provisions.” Supported by: Hugh Henry* Motions and amendments which have attracted additional support

You can search for this motion (S2M-2622.2) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S2M-2622.2, in the name of Cathy Jamieson, which seeks to amend motion S2M-2622, in the name of Kenny MacAskill, on firearms legislation, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con14 0077.8%
Green0 0685.7%
Independent1 40100.0%
Lab44 0089.8%
LDem13 0076.5%
SNP0 23092.0%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP0 0466.7%
Total:72 281085.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive