Commissioners for Revenue and Customs Bill — 5 Apr 2005 at 20:28

<[i>Amendment No. 4 not moved.]

moved Amendment No. 5:

After Clause 18, insert the following new clause-


(1) Regulations shall make provision as to criteria for pre-disclosure assessment of the use of sensitive confidential information obtained from the taxpayer for a purpose other than that for which it is proposed to be made; and as to prior authorisation and external oversight.

(2) The criteria referred to in subsection (1) shall have regard to the nature of such information, and the purpose for which it is proposed to be used as being proportionate to the requirement for disclosure.

(3) Regulations under subsection (1) shall be made by statutory instrument and no such instrument may be made unless a draft has been laid before and approved by a resolution of each House of Parliament."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 5) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 43; Not-Contents, 90.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 35 (+2 tell)17.7%
Crossbench6 56.4%
Lab82 (+2 tell) 042.0%
LDem0 00.0%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:88 4120.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Brookeborough Crossbench (front bench)aye
Viscount Craigavon Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Freyberg Crossbenchaye
Lord Monson Crossbenchaye
Lord Thomas of SwynnertonCrossbenchaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive