EU Constitution — 8 Jun 2005 at 18:59

The issue in this division was whether to approve a Government amendment to a motion proposed by the Conservative front bench on the Constitutional Treaty of the European Union. The previous division had seen the House reject the wording proposed by the Conservatives.

The amended wording proposed was:

That this House endorses the Statement of 6th June by the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, which set out the Government's response to the results of the French and Dutch referenda on the EU Constitutional Treaty; recognises that discussions will now take place on the future of the Constitutional Treaty between European leaders collectively; and agrees that the EU should uphold the concept of subsidiarity and pursue greater flexibility and better regulation, and continue the contribution it has made to peace, democracy and prosperity over recent decades for the benefit of the people of Europe.

Under the Standing Orders of the House, if this amendment was agreed then the motion (as amended) would be agreed without a further division. Those voting Aye were agreeing with this motion, while those voting No were disagreeing with it.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 177 (+2 tell)091.8%
DUP0 5055.6%
Independent1 10100.0%
Lab320 (+2 tell) 0191.2%
LDem51 0083.6%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 2033.3%
Total:373 188189.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Stephen HesfordWirral WestLabboth

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive