Finance Bill — Clause 11 — Gift Aid eligibility of museum charges — 13 Jun 2005 at 17:15

Those voting Aye wished to weaken Clause 11 of the Finance Bill, which amended the Finance Act 1990 relating to the fact that museums who were registered as charities were able to reclaim tax back on their admission charges. Usually these tax concessions, known as Gift Aid, apply to charitable donations, and the Treasury considered saw the ability to apply it to entrance fees as a loophole, which this Clause was intended to close.

Inserted section 5H of Clause 11 says, in essence:

Gift Aid is only applicable on an admission tickets (a) that lasts at least one year, or (b) that cost 10% above the standard rate.

Those voting Aye wanted to lower the proposed limit on which ticket would qualify for text relief, from one year to three months.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 157 (+2 tell)081.5%
DUP0 2022.2%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab290 (+2 tell) 0082.5%
LDem0 36059.0%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:290 203078.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive