National Lottery Bill (Reasoned amendment on second reading) — 14 Jun 2005 at 19:00

This division was on a 'Reasoned amendment' which seeks to reject a Bill under consideration, and gives the reasons why it should be rejected.

The amendment was in the following terms:

"That this House declines to give a Second Reading to the National Lottery Bill because it creates the Big Lottery Fund, which will take the National Lottery further away from its original purpose of providing new resources to charities, sport, heritage and the arts; because it breaches the principle of additionality and allows the Secretary of State too much interference over the direction of Lottery funds and distributors; because it fails to restore funding to the original four good causes, which have lost £3 billion in Lottery funding since 1998; and because it fails to give the public sufficient say in where Lottery funding will go."

The effect of the amendment would have been to prevent any future progress on the Bill in this session. Those voting Aye were therefore agreeing with these criticisms and opposing the Bill; those voting No were disagreeing with the criticism and implicitly supporting the principle of the Bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 137 (+1 tell)070.8%
DUP7 0077.8%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab282 (+2 tell) 0080.2%
LDem0 50 (+1 tell)083.6%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:290 197077.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive