[S2M-3278.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 15 Sep 2005 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-3278.1

The description in the bulletin on 2005-09-15 is:

*S2M-3278.1 Lord James Douglas-Hamilton: Quality Teachers for the 21st Century—As an amendment to motion (S2M-3278) in the name of Peter Peacock, leave out from first "welcomes" to end and insert "while recognising with concern the increasing number of teaching posts vacant for more than three months, welcomes the implementation of radically improved teacher induction arrangements; acknowledges the widening of opportunities and improved quality of Continuing Professional Development for teachers and the development of chartered teacher programmes, but notes the low uptake of these programmes among teachers; recognises the importance of teaching standards in delivering higher educational attainment, and welcomes the Executive’s commitment to secure quality teachers for the 21st century but notes that, with 40% of teachers due to retire within 10 years, the issue of teacher retention must be addressed with some urgency."

You can search for this motion (S2M-3278.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that amendment S2M-3278.1, in the name of Lord James Douglas-Hamilton, which seeks to amend motion S2M-3278, in the name of Peter Peacock, on quality teachers for the 21 st century, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16088.9%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent1 30100.0%
Lab45 0091.8%
LDem17 00100.0%
SNP0 21084.0%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP0 0233.3%
Total:63 48289.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive