Racial and Religious Hatred Bill — 25 Oct 2005 at 17:23

House in Committee accordingly.


Clause 1 <[i>Hatred against persons on racial or religious grounds]:

moved Amendment No. 1:

Page 1, line 2, leave out "Part 3 of"

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 1) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 260; Not-Contents, 111

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop4 120.0%
Con136 (+1 tell) 064.3%
Crossbench46 326.9%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Judge0 110.0%
Lab15 100 (+2 tell)53.9%
LDem51 (+1 tell) 273.0%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:255 10750.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Bishop of SouthwarkBishopno
Lord Adebowale Crossbenchno
Lord Bhatia Crossbenchno
Lord Hannay of ChiswickCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Barnett Lab (minister)aye
Lord Berkeley Labaye
Lord Bragg Labaye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Davies of CoityLab (minister)aye
Lord Desai Labaye
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Lord Howie of TroonLab (minister)aye
Lord Morgan Labaye
Lord Peston Lab (minister)aye
Lord Plant of HighfieldLab (minister)aye
Lord Prys-Davies Labaye
Baroness Rendell of BaberghLab (minister)aye
Lord Sheldon Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye
Lord Avebury LDem (front bench)no
Lord Mackie of BenshieLDemno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive