Council Tax (New Valuation Lists for England) Bill — 7 Nov 2005 at 21:37

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

This short two-clause Bill is brought before the House as the legislative consequence of the Government's decision to extend the remit of Sir Michael Lyons' independent inquiry into local government funding, and the decision that followed to postpone the 2007 council tax revaluation in England.

I beg to move, To leave out from "That" to the end of the Question, and to add instead thereof:

"this House declines to give a Second Reading to the Council Tax (New Valuation Lists for England) Bill because the Bill merely delays rather than cancels the council tax revaluation, applies only to England and creates inequalities with other parts of the United Kingdom; and because the removal of the need for revaluation of domestic properties offers taxpayers no protection against the imposition of new higher council tax bands."

The House having divided: Ayes 166, Noes 338.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 164 (+2 tell)084.7%
DUP0 2022.2%
Lab297 (+2 tell) 0084.5%
LDem41 0066.1%
Total:338 166081.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive