Road Safety Bill [HL] — offence of not wearing seat belt — age of passenger — 22 Nov 2005 at 15:49

Lord Bradshaw (Liberal Democrat) moved Amendment No. 4:

After Clause 9, insert the following new clause-


(1) In section 15 of the Road Traffic Act 1988 (c. 52)-

(a) in subsection (1), for "fourteen" substitute "sixteen";

(b) in subsection (3), for "fourteen" substitute "sixteen".

(2) In Part 1 of Schedule 2 to the Road Traffic Offenders Act 1988 (c. 53) (prosecution and punishment of offences)-

(a) in the entry relating to RTA section 14, in column (6) insert "Obligatory.";

(b) in the entry relating to RTA section 15(2), in column (6) insert "Obligatory";

(c) in the entry relating to RTA section 15(4), in column (6) insert "Obligatory"."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 4) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 71; Not-Contents, 134

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.0%
Con0 104.7%
Crossbench4 1812.2%
Green0 1100.0%
Judge1 010.0%
Lab126 (+2 tell) 060.7%
LDem0 38 (+2 tell)54.1%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:132 6828.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Boothroyd Crossbenchno
Lord Boston of FavershamCrossbenchno
Lord Hannay of ChiswickCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Haskins Crossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive