[S2M-3658] Decision Time — 1 Dec 2005 at 17:02

This looks like the vote on S2M-3658

The description in the bulletin on 2005-11-30 is:

*S2M-3658 Peter Peacock: Ambitious, Excellent Schools: One Year On—That the Parliament recognises that young people are one of Scotland’s greatest resources; believes that every child is entitled to the opportunity to fulfil his or her full potential; notes the significant progress made over the last year by the Scottish Executive on the most comprehensive programme of modernisation in Scottish schools for a generation or more; supports the objectives set out in Ambitious, Excellent Schools; welcomes the emphasis on heightened expectations, stronger leadership, greater freedom for teachers and schools, increased choice and opportunity for pupils, better support for learning and more appropriate accountability, and supports the Executive’s ongoing modernisation of Scotland’s schools. Supported by: Robert Brown*

You can search for this motion (S2M-3658) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The third question is, that motion S2M-3658, in the name of Peter Peacock, on "ambitious, excellent schools", be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 170100.0%
Green6 0085.7%
Independent1 0260.0%
Lab47 1096.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP0 02392.0%
SSCUP1 00100.0%
SSP0 0583.3%
Total:71 183093.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Kate MacleanDundee WestLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive