Terrorism Bill — Extension Of Period Of Detention to 60 Days — 25 Jan 2006 at 18:38

Those voting Not-Content rejected a change to the period of detention without charge of a terrorist suspect from 28 days to 60 days in Section 27(7)(b)(ii) of the Terrorism Bill (link is to the Act). This was a rerun of the Division 85 in the House of Commons, where the Government was defeated on 9 November 2005.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop2 07.7%
Con97 (+1 tell) 1352.9%
Crossbench28 1523.5%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab24 75 (+2 tell)47.4%
LDem52 (+1 tell) 071.6%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:206 10344.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Blaker Conaye
Baroness Boothroyd Crossbenchaye
Lord Chorley Crossbenchaye
Baroness Deech Crossbenchaye
Baroness Elles Conaye
Earl Ferrers Conaye
Baroness Greengross Crossbenchaye
Lord Hannay of ChiswickCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Howe of AberavonConaye
Lord Imbert Crossbenchaye
Lord Laidlaw Conaye
Lord MacGregor of Pulham MarketConaye
Lord Marlesford Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Monson Crossbenchaye
Viscount Montgomery of AlameinCrossbenchaye
Lord Murton of LindisfarneConaye
Baroness Park of MonmouthConaye
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Pearson of RannochConaye
Lord Pilkington of OxenfordConaye
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchaye
Lord Sainsbury of Preston CandoverConaye
Viscount Slim Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Stevens of KirkwhelpingtonCrossbenchaye
Lord Stewartby Conaye
Lord Swinfen Conaye
Viscount Tenby Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Walpole Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Ahmed Labno
Lord Barnett Lab (minister)no
Lord Berkeley Labno
Baroness Blackstone Labno
Lord Dixon Lab (minister)no
Lord Dubs Lab (minister)no
Lord Evans of ParksideLabno
Lord Faulkner of WorcesterLabno
Lord Grantchester Lab (minister)no
Baroness Hilton of EggardonLab (minister)no
Lord Hunt of ChestertonLabno
Lord Judd Lab (minister)no
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabno
Lord Kirkhill Labno
Lord Lofthouse of PontefractLabno
Baroness Mallalieu Lab (minister)no
Lord Plant of HighfieldLab (minister)no
Lord Ponsonby of ShulbredeLabno
Lord Radice Lab (minister)no
Lord Rea Labno
Lord Smith of FinsburyLabno
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabno
Baroness Uddin Labno
Baroness Whitaker Labno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive