Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill — Timetable — 9 Feb 2006 at 17:22

Those voting Aye agreed that the scrutiny of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill by the Standing Committee would be finished by 9th of March, and that the debate on the floor of the House of Commons after that would last no more than one day.

This timetable, known as a guillotine motion, is designed to ensure that debates finish to a pre-arranged schedule, even if it turns out there is nowhere near enough time to discuss everything. When the Bill returned from four days of Standing Committee debates with no changes, this schedule was amended from one to two days just before the debate began to take account of the time that was required. It should be noted that since the MPs in Parliament can change the schedule whenever they like, it cannot be used as an excuse for not having enough time to scrutinize something important.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 82 (+2 tell)042.9%
Independent0 1050.0%
Lab233 (+2 tell) 0066.6%
LDem0 16025.8%
SNP0 1016.7%
Total:233 100054.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive