[S2M-4363.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 11 May 2006 at 16:59

This looks like the vote on S2M-4363.1

The description in the bulletin on 2006-05-11 is:

*S2M-4363.1 Derek Brownlee: Council Tax and Pensioner Poverty—As an amendment to motion (S2M-4363) in the name of Mr John Swinney, leave out from "recognises" to end and insert "notes that the council tax has increased by 60% since 1997 and that it is this large rise which has made the cost of local council services a punishing burden for so many Scottish households, especially pensioners; calls on the Scottish Executive to fund fully the centrally-driven policies which it imposes on local councils; further calls on the Executive to ensure that those who are entitled to council tax benefits are in receipt of them, and notes that in 2004-05 councils collected only 92.7% of council tax and that, if the Scottish councils improved their average collection rate to that of England, 96.5%, an extra £41.50 could be shaved off the average band D council tax in 2005-06."

You can search for this motion (S2M-4363.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that amendment S2M-4363.1, in the name of Derek Brownlee, which seeks to amend motion S2M-4363, in the name of John Swinney, on council tax and pensioner poverty, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16094.1%
Green0 0685.7%
Independent2 0160.0%
Lab43 3092.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SNP24 0096.0%
SSCUP1 00100.0%
SSP3 0050.0%
Total:89 19789.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jackie BaillieDumbartonLabaye
Andy KerrEast KilbrideLabaye
Trish GodmanWest RenfrewshireLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive