Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill — New Clause "2" — Report on Operation of Act — 16 May 2006 at 17:15

Those voting No rejected a new clause that would have been added into the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill. The proposed clause would have read:

[T]he Secretary of State must prepare and lay before Parliament an [annual] report setting out his estimate of the extent to which orders, rules and schemes made... [under] this Act have: removed or reduced any burden,... [imposed] a burden that has affected any person... [that] was proportionate to the benefit that was expected, or removed inconsistencies and anomalies in legislation.

The requirement to make such a report would have arguably been an "administrative burden", which would have been an example where the Act could have been self-modifying.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 150 (+2 tell)077.6%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab269 (+2 tell) 0076.8%
LDem0 51081.0%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:269 210077.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive