Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill — Clause 14 — Negative Resolution Procedure — 16 May 2006 at 20:45

Those voting No rejected an an amendment to the just amended Clause 14 of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill (seen as Clause 17 of the new Bill) that would have loosened the limitations on the possibility of a Parliamentary veto on an order passed under this Bill. The clause says:

The Minister may make an order [following a]... draft order... [if] Parliament [vetoes it] within the 40-day period, or a committee of either House charged with reporting on the draft order may, at any time after... 30 days [but]... before 40 days... recommends... that... [it be vetoed]... only if it considers that... the draft order does not serve the purpose specified, [or]... [it does not satisfy the preconditions in] Section 3 (proportionality, balance, and consistency with policy objectives).

The amendment, which was voted down in this division, would deleted the italicised words and have given it the freedom to veto an order for any reason it chose.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 133 (+2 tell)068.9%
DUP0 5055.6%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab258 (+2 tell) 6075.4%
LDem0 47074.6%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:258 200073.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive