Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill — New Clause "2" — Report on Operation of Act — 16 May 2006 at 17:15

Theresa May MP, Maidenhead voted in the minority (Aye).

Those voting No rejected a new clause that would have been added into the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill. The proposed clause would have read:

[T]he Secretary of State must prepare and lay before Parliament an [annual] report setting out his estimate of the extent to which orders, rules and schemes made... [under] this Act have: removed or reduced any burden,... [imposed] a burden that has affected any person... [that] was proportionate to the benefit that was expected, or removed inconsistencies and anomalies in legislation.

The requirement to make such a report would have arguably been an "administrative burden", which would have been an example where the Act could have been self-modifying.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a not-for-profit free service. However, it does cost us money to 'keep the lights on'. To do this cheaply, we get our 100% renewable electricity from Bulb - who tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six' electricity suppliers and will give us and YOU £50 credit if you switch your gas and electricity to them using our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 150 (+2 tell)077.6%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab269 (+2 tell) 0076.8%
LDem0 51081.0%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:269 210077.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. We're working on updating the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive