Health Bill — 19 Jun 2006 at 16:49

Report received.

Clause 2 Smoke-free premises:

moved Amendment No. 1:

Page 2, line 11, at beginning insert "Except as provided in section (Premises serving food),"

The effect of this amendment would have been to allow smoking where food was served - restaurants, canteens, gastropubs etc.

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 70; Not-Contents, 221.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.0%
Con21 46 (+1 tell)32.2%
Crossbench21 1419.3%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab135 (+2 tell) 364.8%
LDem39 2 (+1 tell)53.8%
Total:217 6740.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Astor of HeverCon (front bench)no
Earl Attlee Conno
Lord Biffen Conno
Lord Bowness Con (front bench)no
Lord Colwyn Conno
Lord Crickhowell Conno
Baroness Cumberlege Conno
Lord Elliott of MorpethConno
Baroness Fookes Con (front bench)no
Baroness Gardner of ParkesCon (front bench)no
Lord Hamilton of EpsomConno
Lord Higgins Con (front bench)no
Earl Howe Con (front bench)no
Lord Jenkin of RodingConno
Lord Lucas Conno
Baroness Morris of BoltonCon (front bench)no
Lord Murton of LindisfarneConno
Baroness O'Cathain Con (front bench)no
Lord Plummer of St MaryleboneConno
The Earl of SelborneCon (front bench)no
Lord Trefgarne Conno
Viscount Bledisloe Crossbenchaye
Baroness Boothroyd Crossbenchaye
Lord Cobbold Crossbenchaye
The Earl of ErrollCrossbenchaye
Lord Harris of High CrossCrossbenchaye
Lord Hylton Crossbenchaye
Lord Joffe Crossbenchaye
Lord Monson Crossbenchaye
Viscount Montgomery of AlameinCrossbenchaye
Lord Neill of BladenCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Palmer Crossbench (front bench)aye
The Earl of SandwichCrossbenchaye
Lord Skidelsky Crossbenchaye
Lord Trimble Crossbenchaye
Lord Gilbert Labaye
Lord Mason of BarnsleyLabaye
Lord Pendry Labaye
Lord Phillips of SudburyLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Russell-Johnston LDemtellaye
Lord Sandberg LDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive