Civil Aviation Bill — 28 Jun 2006 at 16:10


<[i>The page and line references are to HL Bill 21 as first printed for the Lords.]

1 Clause 1, page 1, line 7, leave out "may" and insert "shall"

2 Page 1, line 8, leave out from "in" to "by" and insert "proportion to the noise made by aircraft and"

4 Page 2, line 31, at end insert-

"( ) Charges, in relation to noise, shall be proportional to the noise emitted."

The Commons disagree to these amendments for the following reason-

Because it is not appropriate to require aerodrome authorities to fix their charges in the manner proposed

rose to move, as an amendment to Motion A, leave out "not".

On Question, Whether the said Motion (A1), as an amendment to Motion A, shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 178; Not-Contents, 150.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con108 (+1 tell) 151.9%
Crossbench13 1917.9%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab1 126 (+2 tell)60.8%
LDem51 (+1 tell) 065.8%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:175 14747.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of LiverpoolConno
Lord Adebowale Crossbenchaye
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Lord Cameron of DillingtonCrossbenchaye
Baroness Cox Crossbenchaye
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchaye
Lord Dahrendorf Crossbenchaye
Lord Greenway Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchaye
Lady Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbenchaye
The Earl of SandwichCrossbenchaye
Lord St John of BletsoCrossbenchaye
Lord Tanlaw Crossbenchaye
Viscount Tenby Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Berkeley Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive