UK-US Extradition Treaty — 12 Jul 2006 at 15:32

This division was on the motion that the House adjourns immediately, but it followed a debate on the extradition treaty between the United Kingdom and the United States which focussed on the 'Natwest Three' or 'Enron Three' who were then attempting to resist extradition. Those MPs voting to adjourn the House were expressing a protest against the treaty which, while remaining unratified by the United States, was not reciprocal.

The Labour whips officially ordered their MPs to abstain, and so any Labour MP who voted in the division was breaking the whip, contrary to what you may see elsewhere on this page. As the Labour whips did not put up tellers for the Noes, the Conservatives did so in order to make sure a division happened. These two Conservatives were not breaking the whip, contrary to what you may see elsewhere on the page.

It is a mark of shame that the site is unable to cope with the reality of political life and prefers instead a simplistic mathematical calculation of what constitutes a revolt. (Editors note - It is also a mark of shame that no political party will officially publish its whipping instructions.)

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con175 (+1 tell) 0 (+2 tell)090.8%
Lab4 312.3%
LDem57 (+1 tell) 0092.1%
PC3 00100.0%
Respect1 00100.0%
SNP5 0083.3%
Total:245 3140.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Douglas HoggSleaford and North HykehamContellno
David MacleanPenrith and The BorderCon (front bench)tellno
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLab (minister)no
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLab (minister)no
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)both

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive