Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill — 26 Oct 2006 at 15:52

Consideration of amendments on Report resumed on Clause 3.

<[i>Amendment No. 17 not moved.]

moved Amendment No. 18:

Before Clause 4, insert the following new clause-
(1) An order under this Part may not restrict the jurisdiction or undermine the independence of any economic regulator.
(2) For the purposes of this section-

(a) restricting the jurisdiction of any economic regulator includes diminishing, removing or transferring to another person any function conferred on or exercisable by an economic regulator; (b) undermining the independence of any economic regulator includes imposing on an economic regulator an obligation to comply with the wishes of- (i) a Minister of the Crown; (ii) a person who owes such an obligation to a Minister of the Crown; or (iii) a person who is controlled by a Minister of the Crown.

(3) An order under this section may not render a person who is a director or member of an economic regulator removable from office on grounds other than those which were in force on the date on which this Act was passed.
(4) In this section, "economic regulator" means any of-

(a) the Gas and Electricity Markets Authority; (b) the Office of Communications; (c) the Office of Rail Regulation; (d) the Postal Services Commission; (e) the Water Services Regulation Authority; (f) the Office of Fair Trading; (g) the Civil Aviation Authority."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 18) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 96; Not-Contents, 110.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 53 (+2 tell)25.8%
Crossbench4 1711.1%
Green0 1100.0%
Lab101 (+2 tell) 147.7%
LDem1 2026.6%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:106 9328.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Lord Chorley Crossbenchno
Baroness Finlay of LlandaffCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchno
Lord Berkeley Labaye
Lord Bradshaw LDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive