Education and Inspections Bill — 30 Oct 2006 at 15:26

The majority Not Contents defeated an attempt to make an explicit duty on local authorities "to secure the right to a suitable education appropriate to the child's needs." Both sides agreed that there is such a duty (it is enshrined in the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child), but the Government argued that this Bill was not the place to cite it, and that assigning the duty explicitly to local authorities might in some way detract from the parallel duties of parents, the Secretary of State and governing bodies.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 17.7%
Con9 14.7%
Crossbench24 1520.7%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab119 (+2 tell) 157.0%
LDem0 41 (+2 tell)54.4%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:154 6130.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Flather Conaye
Lord Naseby Con (front bench)aye
Viscount Allenby of MegiddoCrossbenchaye
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Baroness Butler-Sloss Crossbenchaye
Baroness Chapman Crossbenchaye
Lord Cobbold Crossbenchaye
Lord Harries of PentregarthCrossbenchaye
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchaye
Lord Inge Crossbenchaye
Lord Marsh Crossbenchaye
Viscount Montgomery of AlameinCrossbenchaye
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbenchaye
Lady Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbenchaye
Baroness Stern Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Trimble Crossbenchaye
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonCrossbenchaye
Lord Judd Lab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive