Education and Inspections Bill — Faith schools must accept pupils from outside the faith — rejected — 30 Oct 2006 at 22:24

The majority Not Contents defeated an amendment[1] which would have allowed Local Authorities (or the Secretary of State) to choose to require that new faith schools had to admit a portion of their intake (up to 25%) from outside the faith. The amendment introduces a new clause into the Education and Inspections Bill after clause 45. However, the amendment was rejected.

The main aims of the Education and Inspections Bill were to[2]:

  • Allow schools to achieve 'foundation' or 'trust' status - this gives governing bodies greater freedom to manage the school.
  • Reaffirm the existing ban on selection by ability and proposes a ban on interviewing.
  • Give local authorities greater scope to intervene more quickly in failing schools.
  • Ensure local authorities provide free school transport for the poorest families.
  • Enable nutritional standards to be applied to all food and drink on school premises.
  • Allow staff to discipline children for bad behaviour even outside of school.
  • Ensure parents are held responsible for excluded pupils.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 03.8%
Con17 11 (+1 tell)13.6%
Crossbench8 46.3%
Lab78 (+2 tell) 1543.6%
LDem9 517.7%
UUP1 0100.0%
Total:114 3520.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Baker of DorkingConaye
Baroness Bottomley of NettlestoneConaye
Lord Crathorne Conaye
The Earl of DundeeConaye
Baroness Flather Contellaye
Lord Fowler Conaye
Lord Glenarthur Conaye
Lord Jopling Conaye
Lord Marlesford Conaye
The Earl of OnslowContellaye
Lord Reay Conaye
Lord Renfrew of KaimsthornConaye
Lord Wade of ChorltonConaye
Lord Moser Crossbenchaye
Lord Patel Crossbenchaye
Lord Skidelsky Crossbenchaye
Lord Tombs Crossbenchaye
Lord Alli Labaye
Lord Barnett Labaye
Baroness Billingham Labaye
Baroness Cohen of PimlicoLabaye
Lord Desai Labaye
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Baroness Gould of PotternewtonLabaye
Lord Harrison Labaye
Lord Haworth Labaye
Baroness Lockwood Labaye
Lord Macdonald of TradestonLabaye
Baroness Massey of DarwenLabaye
Lord Morgan Labaye
Lord Sheldon Labaye
Baroness Turner of CamdenLabaye
Lord Lee of TraffordLDemaye
Baroness Miller of Chilthorne DomerLDemaye
Lord Taverne LDemaye
Baroness Thomas of WalliswoodLDemaye
Baroness Tonge LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive