Iraq — Select committee inquiry — rejected — 31 Oct 2006 at 18:53

The majority of MPs voted against a further inquiry into the war in Iraq.

Those voting Aye put a new motion before the house to replace the one that was rejected in Division 330, The new motion said:

  • This House, recognising that there have already been four separate independent committees of inquiry into military action in Iraq and recognising the importance of learning all possible lessons from military action in Iraq and its aftermath, declines at this time, whilst the whole effort of the Government and the armed forces is directed towards improving the condition of Iraq, to make a proposal for a further inquiry which would divert attention from this vital task.

This motion then passed without a further vote.

Of the "four separate independent" inquiries, three of them, The Foreign Affairs Committee - The Decision to go to war in Iraq of July 2003, Intelligence and Security Committee - Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction Intelligence and Assessments of September 2003, and The Hutton Inquiry of January 2004 were held before it was established that Iraq lacked usable weapons of mass destruction and either avoided the question, or concluded that it was too early to tell. The fourth, The Butler Review of July 2004, did not have the support of the opposition parties who considered that its terms of reference were too narrow.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 180 (+1 tell)092.3%
DUP0 6066.7%
Independent0 20100.0%
Lab293 (+2 tell) 8086.1%
LDem0 60095.2%
PC0 2066.7%
Respect0 10100.0%
SNP0 5 (+1 tell)0100.0%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:294 264088.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabno
Glenda JacksonHampstead and HighgateLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Gavin StrangEdinburgh EastLabno
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labno
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive