[S2M-5258] Decision Time — 6 Dec 2006 at 17:01

This looks like the vote on S2M-5258

The description in the bulletin on 2006-12-05 is:

*S2M-5258 Miss Annabel Goldie: Council Tax—That the Parliament notes the recommendations of the Independent Local Government Finance Review Committee report but opposes its central recommendation of a "local property tax"; agrees that the 60% increase in council tax levels since Labour came to power has left those on low incomes struggling to pay their council tax bills, especially our pensioner households, and therefore calls for a 50% discount on council tax for all pensioner households aged 65 and over in Scotland, as proposed by the Scottish Conservatives. Supported by: Derek Brownlee*

You can search for this motion (S2M-5258) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The fourth question is, that motion S2M-5258, in the name of Annabel Goldie, on council tax, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 14082.4%
Green7 00100.0%
Independent0 1020.0%
Lab49 0098.0%
LDem17 00100.0%
SG0 1050.0%
SNP0 22088.0%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP0 1025.0%
Total:73 40088.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive