[S2M-5349.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 21 Dec 2006 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-5349.1

The description in the bulletin on 2006-12-21 is:

*S2M-5349.1 Murdo Fraser: Post Offices—As an amendment to motion (S2M-5349) in the name of Mr John Swinney, after first "Government" insert "notes that decisions taken by the UK Government have themselves contributed to the losses being made by the post office network and that it is therefore disingenuous for ministers to justify the extensive scaling down of the network on the basis that it is losing money; believes that the UK Government should seek to bring new business opportunities to the network rather than merely manage its decline".

You can search for this motion (S2M-5349.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The sixth question is, that amendment S2M-5349.1, in the name of Murdo Fraser, which seeks to amend motion S2M-5349, in the name of John Swinney, on post offices, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 15088.2%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent1 31100.0%
Lab47 0094.0%
LDem15 0088.2%
SG0 02100.0%
SNP0 250100.0%
SSP0 0375.0%
Total:63 50693.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive