[S2M-5510] Decision Time — 1 Feb 2007 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-5510

The description in the bulletin on 2007-01-31 is:

*S2M-5510 Mr Mark Ruskell: Scottish Water—That the Parliament notes growing pressure for Scottish Water to be privatised; further notes the substantial improvements that have been made in Scottish Water’s performance, all of this having been achieved while keeping Scottish Water in the public sector; notes the Water Industry Commission’s lack of a wider social and environmental remit and its use of a regulatory model more suited to a private utility than to a public one; considers that improving the service, upgrading the water and sewerage system, reducing leakages and ensuring effective regulation should not centre on short-term efficiency measures but on the quality and safe delivery of services in the long term, and affirms its commitment to keeping Scottish Water under public ownership and control. Supported by: Mark Ballard*

You can search for this motion (S2M-5510) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that motion S2M-5510, in the name of Mark Ruskell, on Scottish Water, as amended, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16094.1%
Green0 6085.7%
Independent1 0140.0%
Lab43 0086.0%
LDem13 0076.5%
SG0 1050.0%
SNP0 23092.0%
SSP0 2050.0%
Total:57 48183.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive