Mental Health Bill [HL] — 19 Feb 2007 at 19:25

moved Amendment No. 5:

After Clause 5, insert the following new Clause-
"Renewal of detention
(1) Section 20 of the 1983 Act (duration of authority) is amended as follows.
(2) In subsection (3), after paragraph (a), insert-

(aa) to arrange for the patient to be examined by- (i) the registered medical practitioner who has been professionally concerned with the medical treatment of the patient; or (ii) if no such practitioner is available, a registered medical practitioner who is an approved clinician, and"

(3) In subsection (3)(b) for "if it appears to him that the conditions set out in subsection (4) below are satisfied, to" substitute "if the responsible clinician and the medical practitioner agree that the requirements of subsection (4) are satisfied the responsible clinician shall""

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 5) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 147; Not-Contents, 108.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con62 (+1 tell) 030.1%
Crossbench21 011.1%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab2 106 (+2 tell)50.7%
LDem58 (+1 tell) 074.7%
Total:144 10636.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Layard Lab (minister)aye
Lord Turnberg Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive