[S2M-5669.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 1 Mar 2007 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-5669.1

The description in the bulletin on 2007-03-01 is:

*S2M-5669.1 Mr Kenny MacAskill: Dealing with Illegal Money Lenders—As an amendment to motion (S2M-5669) in the name of Des McNulty, leave out from "welcomes" to end and insert "notes the significant debt problem in Scotland, a problem that is more serious than in the rest of the United Kingdom; recognises that a main cause of Scotland’s debt crisis is the irresponsible actions of legal money lenders; believes that the causes as well as the consequences of unmanageable debt must be addressed; regrets that current consumer legislation at Westminster is inadequate in protecting vulnerable groups from predatory lending; calls for the Parliament to have appropriate powers to deal with Scotland’s distinct debt problem, and further calls for the removal of dwelling homes from the land attachment method of debt recovery, thereby ending the draconian situation of a person’s home being at risk over a small amount of debt."

You can search for this motion (S2M-5669.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The first question is, that amendment S2M-5669.1, in the name of Kenny MacAskill, which seeks to amend motion S2M-5669, in the name of Des McNulty, on dealing with illegal moneylenders, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con14 0082.4%
Green0 70100.0%
Independent1 2060.0%
Lab45 0090.0%
LDem16 0094.1%
SG0 20100.0%
SNP0 23092.0%
SSCUP0 10100.0%
SSP0 1025.0%
Total:76 36087.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive