Control Orders — Annual renewal 2007 — Regrets the they have not been replaced — rejected — 5 Mar 2007 at 17:09

The Motion before the Lords was for to approve the continuance of the Control Order powers, as required annually by the Act.

Those voting Aye failed to add to the motion:

but this House regrets that the Government have not replaced control orders with new measures to strengthen the ability of terror suspects to be prosecuted in court.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 41.9%
Crossbench5 3320.1%
Green0 1100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab134 (+2 tell) 565.3%
LDem0 49 (+2 tell)64.6%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:139 9434.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Currie of MaryleboneCrossbenchno
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchno
Lord Low of DalstonCrossbenchno
Baroness Meacher Crossbenchno
Lord Clinton-Davis Labaye
Lord Judd Lab (minister)aye
Baroness Kennedy of The ShawsLabaye
Lord Morgan Labaye
Lord Plant of HighfieldLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive