Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2007 — 21 Mar 2007 at 22:09

The majority Not Contents defeated an Amendment that would have declined to pass the Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2007 due to a number of concerns, predominantly
  • Fears that religious teachers and preachers could be prosecuted for homophobia
  • Fears that Catholic adoption agencies and old people's homes would have to cater for gay couples or close
  • Arguments that preventing religions discriminating against homosexuals constitutes discrimination against religions
  • Arguments that there was not enough scope for debate and the topic was important enough that it ought to be presented as primary legislation with greater opportunities for amendment, rather than as regulations
  • and the fact that equivalent regulations in Northern Ireland were currently being contested in the courts and their legality had not been established.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 311.5%
Con4 68 (+1 tell)35.1%
Crossbench15 30 (+1 tell)24.3%
DUP0 3100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab103 (+2 tell) 1053.2%
LDem42 154.4%
UKIP0 2100.0%
Total:164 11839.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Anderson of SwanseaLabaye
Lord Best Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Brennan Labaye
Lord Brookman Labaye
Lord Clarke of HampsteadLabaye
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchno
Baroness D'Souza Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Davies of CoityLab (minister)aye
Lord Donoughue Labaye
Lord Evans of ParksideLabaye
Lord Fowler Conno
Lord Gordon of StrathblaneLabaye
Baroness Greengross Crossbenchno
Lord Harries of PentregarthCrossbenchno
Lord Haskins Crossbenchno
Baroness Howarth of BrecklandCrossbenchno
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbenchno
Lord Lofthouse of PontefractLabaye
Lord Low of DalstonCrossbenchno
The Countess of MarCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Murphy Crossbenchno
Baroness Noakes Con (front bench)no
Lord Norton of LouthCon (front bench)no
Lord Patel of BradfordCrossbenchno
Lord Pendry Labaye
Lord Rees of LudlowCrossbenchno
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchno
The Earl of SandwichCrossbenchno
Lord St John of FawsleyConno
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonCrossbenchno
Baroness Williams of CrosbyLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive