[S2M-5775.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 22 Mar 2007 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S2M-5775.1

The description in the bulletin on 2007-03-22 is:

*S2M-5775.1 Lord James Douglas-Hamilton: Celebrating Success in Scottish Education—As an amendment to motion (S2M-5775) in the name of Hugh Henry, leave out from "notes" to end and insert "supports giving top priority to ensuring that our education system enables every child to find fulfilment according to his or her ability, aptitude and inclination; believes that head teachers should have greater freedom to make decisions relating to their schools, in co-operation with parents and pupils, and further believes that particular areas for giving greater control include budgets, permanent exclusions, wearing of uniforms, setting, and the continuing professional development of teachers in their schools."

You can search for this motion (S2M-5775.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The seventh question is, that amendment S2M-5775.1, in the name of Lord James Douglas-Hamilton, which seeks to amend motion S2M-5775, in the name of Hugh Henry, on celebrating success in Scottish education, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 16094.1%
Green0 07100.0%
Independent1 1160.0%
Lab45 0090.0%
LDem15 1094.1%
SNP23 0092.0%
SSP3 0075.0%
Total:87 18890.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John Farquhar MunroRoss, Skye and Inverness WestLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive