Streetscape and Highways Design Bill — To be read a Second Time — 27 Apr 2007 at 13:38

I beg to move, That the Bill be now read a Second time.

It is an unexpected and happy surprise to have the opportunity to move the Second Reading of this Bill, which is supported by hon. Members on both sides of the House. It is a Bill that attempts to introduce a complete change in the climate and culture of local government highway authorities' decisions about the implementation of the regulations and directions that govern how our road signs are located and what they look like. Most areas of public policy require budgets and targets, and most address clear cases of need, such as teaching the young or treating the old. On issues such as taxation and spending, the battleground is well established across the divide of the House, but there are some matters that are shaped by Government and cause intense irritation while rarely figuring on the political radar. One such issue is our streetscape and the design of our roads.

Question put, That the Bill be now read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 10, Noes 10.

As less than 40 Members had voted the Deputy Speaker declared that the Question was not decided, and the business under consideration stood over until the next sitting of the House.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

All Votes Cast - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party are marked in red. Also shows which MPs were ministers at the time of this vote. You can also see every eligible MP including those who did not vote in this division.

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
Alan DuncanRutland and MeltonCon (front bench)aye
Robert GoodwillScarborough and WhitbyCon (front bench)tellaye
John GreenwayRyedaleConaye
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConaye
Bob SpinkCastle Pointwhilst Con (front bench)aye
Angela WatkinsonUpminsterCon (front bench)tellaye
David WillettsHavantCon (front bench)aye
Bob AinsworthCoventry North EastLab (minister)no
Edward BallsNormantonLab (minister)no
Liz BlackmanErewashLab (minister)tellno
Kevin BrennanCardiff WestLab (minister)no
Wayne DavidCaerphillyLab (minister)no
Keith HillStreathamLab (minister)no
Geoff HoonAshfieldLab (minister)no
Martin LintonBatterseaLab (minister)no
Steve McCabeBirmingham, Hall GreenLab (minister)tellno
Sarah McCarthy-FryPortsmouth NorthLab (minister)no
Gillian MerronLincolnLab (minister)no
Steve PoundEaling NorthLab (minister)no
Norman BakerLewesLDemaye
David HowarthCambridgeLDem (front bench)aye
Simon HughesNorth Southwark and BermondseyLDem (front bench)aye
Susan KramerRichmond ParkLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive