Opposition Day — Iraq Inquiry — 11 Jun 2007 at 19:45

The majority of MPs voted against the principle that there should be an inquiry into the Iraq War by an independent committee of Privy Counsellors.

Those voting No rejected the motion which read:

  • This House supports the principle that there should be an inquiry by an independent committee of Privy Counsellors to review the way in which the responsibilities of Government were discharged in relation to Iraq and all matters relevant thereto in the period leading up to military action in that country in March 2003 and in its aftermath and to make recommendations on the lessons for the future.

The words were replaced by an alternative motion in the next vote.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 173 (+2 tell)089.3%
Independent0 20100.0%
Independent Labour0 10100.0%
Lab287 (+2 tell) 10185.2%
LDem0 56088.9%
PC0 30100.0%
Respect0 10100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:287 251187.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabaye
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLabaye
Robert WareingLiverpool, West Derbywhilst Labaye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLabaye
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabaye
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLabboth
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabaye
Mark FisherStoke-on-Trent CentralLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive