[S3M-1153] Decision Time — 17 Jan 2008 at 17:10

This looks like the vote on S3M-1153

The description in the bulletin on 2008-01-16 is:

*S3M-1153 Kenny MacAskill: Firearms—That the Parliament recognises the increasing public concern about gun crime; agrees that action is required to give better protection to our communities by effectively banning the ownership and use of all firearms and air weapons other than for recognised and legitimate occupational and sporting interests, and supports the Scottish Government’s intention to engage with the wide range of interests, including the Association of Chief Police Officers in Scotland (ACPOS), sporting bodies and gun lobbies, in re-energising the United Kingdom debate started in 2004, but not progressed, on reform of the existing firearms regime into a system that is simpler to understand, administer and enforce and places prime importance on public safety. Supported by: Fergus Ewing*

You can search for this motion (S3M-1153) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The seventh question is, that motion S3M-1153, in the name of Kenny MacAskill, on firearms, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)AbstentionsTurnout
Con14 1093.8%
Green0 20100.0%
Lab44 0095.7%
LDem15 10100.0%
SNP0 470100.0%
Total:73 51097.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Bill AitkenGlasgowConaye
Jim TolsonDunfermline WestLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive