Lisbon Treaty — Amendment to proposed Commons timetable for debate — rejected — 28 Jan 2008 at 21:45

The majority No voters rejected an opposition amendment[1] to the Government's 'programme motion'[2].

The programme motion restricted the Commons to a set timetable for debating the European Union (Amendment) Bill, which implements the Lisbon Treaty. The amendment would have increased the number of days allotted for the debate, and increased the proportion of each day spent debating amendments to the bill.

Consequently, the amendment was intended to delay the passing of the European Union (Amendment) Bill.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 173 (+2 tell)090.2%
DUP0 3033.3%
Independent0 2050.0%
Independent Labour0 10100.0%
Lab303 (+2 tell) 7088.6%
LDem0 52082.5%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 3050.0%
Total:303 244087.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLab (minister)aye
Frank FieldBirkenheadLab (minister)aye
Roger GodsiffBirmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabaye
Kate HoeyVauxhallLab (minister)aye
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)aye
Graham StringerManchester, BlackleyLab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive