Lisbon Treaty — Disapproves of the government's policy towards the Lisbon Treaty with regards to the single market — rejected — 6 Feb 2008 at 16:18

The majority No voters rejected an amendment[1] disapproving of the Government's policy towards the Treaty of Lisbon in respect of that Treaty's provisions concerning the single market.

It was observed that the Conservatives (the bulk of the Aye-voters) should be in favour of "the single market, because a free trade area is what they essentially believe in, [and] yet they walk away from it."[2]

However, the Tories argued that "this treaty downgrades the objective of an open and competitive single market from its place at the heart of the EU's agenda to an obscure protocol tacked on to the back of the treaty..."[3]

The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[4]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 170 (+2 tell)089.1%
DUP0 5055.6%
Independent2 0040.0%
Lab288 (+2 tell) 0082.4%
LDem54 0085.7%
PC3 00100.0%
SNP5 0083.3%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:352 176084.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive