Banking (Special Provisions) Bill — Independent audits — 21 Feb 2008 at 14:01

The Banking (Special Provisions) Bill enables the Treasury to transfer the property, rights and liabilities of a bank, building society or any other "authorised UK deposit-taker" to a corporate body of its choosing.[1]

The majority (in the House of Lords) voted to require that an independent audit be completed within three months of the transfer, and at least annually thereafter.[2]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 18.0%
Con88 (+1 tell) 043.2%
Crossbench21 916.0%
Lab0 126 (+2 tell)57.7%
LDem37 (+1 tell) 047.5%
UKIP1 050.0%
Total:148 13639.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Baroness Afshar Crossbenchno
Baroness Boothroyd Crossbenchno
Lord Condon Crossbenchno
Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchno
Lord Harries of PentregarthCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Kerr of KinlochardCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Moser Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel of BradfordCrossbenchno
Lord Skidelsky Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Turnbull Crossbenchno
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonCrossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive