[S3M-1385.2.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 21 Feb 2008 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S3M-1385.2.1

The description in the bulletin on 2008-02-21 is:

*S3M-1385.2.1 Margaret Smith: Prisons Policy—As an amendment to amendment (S3M-1385.2) in the name of Kenny MacAskill, insert at end "recognises the need to reduce the number of low-level receptions into custody for short-term sentences by focusing on tough community sentences that pay back into the community for the harm caused; further notes the need to improve treatment for those with mental health problems and drug and alcohol addictions, thus addressing the underlying causes of offending, and calls on the Scottish Government to build on schemes which provide offenders with education and skills training for work, not crime."

You can search for this motion (S3M-1385.2.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

The next question is, that amendment S3M-1385.2.1, in the name of Margaret Smith, which seeks to amend amendment S3M-1385.2, in the name of Kenny MacAskill, on prisons policy, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 14087.5%
Green2 00100.0%
Lab0 41089.1%
LDem16 00100.0%
SNP46 0097.9%
Total:64 55093.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive