Climate Change Bill — Purpose is 2 degrees — 25 Feb 2008 at 16:25

The majority of Lords voted for the Climate Change Bill[1] to have the "principle aim" to--

  • ensure that UK emissions of greenhouse gases do not exceed the level necessary to contribute to limiting the global average temperate increase to not more than 2 degrees C above pre-industrial levels.[2]

This appeared as a new clause at the start of the Bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Con95 (+1 tell) 549.0%
Crossbench16 1717.6%
Green1 0100.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 121 (+2 tell)55.4%
LDem44 (+1 tell) 056.3%
Total:156 14443.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Blackwell Con (front bench)no
Lord Lawson of BlabyCon (front bench)no
Lord Marlesford Conno
The Earl of OnslowCon (front bench)no
Lord Vinson Conno
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchaye
Lord Crisp Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness D'Souza Crossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Greengross Crossbenchaye
Lord Greenway Crossbenchaye
Lord Harries of PentregarthCrossbench (front bench)aye
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Mawson Crossbenchaye
Baroness Murphy Crossbenchaye
Lord Palmer Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbenchaye
Lord Rowe-Beddoe Crossbenchaye
Lady Saltoun of AbernethyCrossbench (front bench)aye
The Earl of SandwichCrossbenchaye
Lord Walpole Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbenchaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive